Skip to content

hussibhoa

Hunter Huss IB Readings

Many of you did not bother to try to post to the google docs document required over spring break. It would have taken about 5 minutes max, but whatever you decide to do or not do is out of my control. Juniors, this post doesn’t apply to you as much as it does to our seniors, but when our semester started 32% of high school students that started a 4- year university finished in 4 years. Sadly, the rate has dropped to 30% in only a couple of months. Community college – 25% finish in 2 years. What the heck is going on?? Read the following documents and tell me what you are going to do to succeed. I would love NOTHING more than to have everyone reading this blog succeed, at the end of the day that is why I teach.

It’s not a Huss problem, or a Gaston County problem, it’s a USA problem. I wish I could tell you that college was playtime like high school is, but some of you are failing in easy high school. I am weary of hearing “but this is only high school and I will get serious in college.” Are you ready? I for one am sick and tired of counting graduates on 2 hands (or  1 hand some years) who stuck with it in college. 173 in the senior class – how many of you will graduate college (is 10% being overly optimistic?) READ ALL THE SOURCES FOR A CHANGE AND CITE THEM ALL OR YOU GET NO CREDIT !!!!!!!! Can you tell I am tired of things only partly done????

http://www.ctl.ua.edu/ctlstudyaids/studyskillsflyers/generaltips/causesoffailure.htm

http://old.post-gazette.com/pg/08246/908705-298.stm

http://www.tuftsdaily.com/half-of-u-s-students-fail-to-finish-college-1.1934813#.T4j8obPy-3A

